We are all curious by nature. That’s how human minds are and how things generally happen. If you blocked a number on your iPhone, can you see their messages?
You could be mad at someone and block their number, but your curiosity might be peaking, pushing you to find ways to see the messages they have sent.
But the main question is whether or not it’s possible. Can you see the messages from a blocked number after you close all communication modes?
This article will explore more in detail so you can find all the relevant answers you are looking for.
Can you See Blocked Messages on your iPhone?
So, remember last week when a friend pissed you off, and you blocked them on your iPhone? Well, aren’t you curious about the messages they have sent you?
If yes, the good news is that you can see blocked messages on your iPhone. However, there’s a catch.
Once you block someone on your iPhone, there’s no way the other contact will be able to communicate with you. So, it doesn’t matter if they send one or a thousand messages; they won’t come through until you decide to unblock them.
However, you can see the previous messages the blocked user sent you before actively blocking them on your iPhone.
Blocking a number on your iPhone doesn’t delete the pre-existing messages and conversation threads. So, if you wish to check those messages, you can do that easily. The only thing you can’t process is getting newer messages after you have blocked the contact.
You do need to rely on your iPhone’s backup to be able to see the messages, so we’d recommend keeping an eye out for that.
Also Read – How to Screen Record on iPhone 13?
How to See Blocked Messages on iPhone?
As we said, you can’t see new messages from a blocked contact on the iPhone. Instead, you can check out the pre-existing messages and conversation threads you had before you blocked them.
There are multiple ways to retrieve blocked messages on iPhones, primarily via backups.
We have sorted out a few you can look into:
1. iCloud Backup
The iCloud backup is probably the most accessible and mainstream way to retrieve messages from a blocked number on your iPhone. It’s easy and automatic, meaning you won’t have to back up the messages manually every time.
If you want to keep track of the iPhone messages, we’d recommend syncing the iPhone with iCloud, so the relevant data is backed up. However, when it comes to checking the blocked messages on iPhone, there are some factors worth considering:
- You can’t view the messages if they aren’t backed up on iCloud
- You can’t view the messages if you have deleted the backup you had on iCloud
That said, here’s a quick breakdown of how you can see the blocked messages on your iPhone using iCloud:
- Open iCloud.com and log in using your Apple ID
- From the backup data, select the particular text messages you wish to retrieve and see
- Navigate to iCloud Settings on the iPhone
- Turn off the Messages backup
This will push you to download the selected messages locally to your iPhone. You can follow the on-screen instructions and directly download the relevant messages by tapping on “Disable” and then “Download Messages.”
2. iTunes Backup
Like iCloud, iPhone users can retrieve their blocked messages via iTunes backup. If you sync your iPhone with iTunes, you can view the previous messages from a blocked number.
We must reiterate that no messages will come through once contact is blocked on iPhone. So, you only have to rely on the previous conversation threads instead.
That said, recovering your data from iTunes isn’t complicated at all. All you have to do is follow the steps mentioned:
- Take your iPhone and connect it to a Mac that has iTunes installed on it
- Open the iTunes app on the Mac and tap on Device
- Navigate to the Backup section
- Tap on Restore Backup
Go through the data until you receive the messages from the blocked contact you wish to retrieve. Once done, you can tap on Restore and get access to the messages you wish to see.
3. Messages App
The only way you can view the blocked messages on the Messages app on an iPhone is by unblocking the number. It isn’t a tedious process. However, if you don’t want to unblock the contact, you can’t view the previous conversation from the Messages app.
If you wish to unblock them just to get access to the conversation thread, here’s what you need to do:
- Open Settings on your iPhone
- Scroll down and tap on Phone
- Select Call blocking and Identification from the menu
You will find a list of all the blocked contacts on your iPhone. If you wish to unblock the contact, tap on it and select Unblock to sort it out. Once you unblock them, you should be able to receive text messages from the contact usually.
How do I know if Someone has Blocked my iMessage?
If you are suspicious that someone has blocked your iMessage, there are specific ways to confirm your suspicions. To be fair, it isn’t as complicated as you think. Here’s how you can sort things out for yourself:
Text bubble color – if your text bubble’s color is green instead of blue, it is a sign that the iPhone user blocks you.
Status updates – if you can’t see the status update of the messages you are sending, chances are that the iPhone user has blocked you.
No outgoing calls – if you cannot initiate a call on the designated number, it is a sign that you are potentially blocked.
This is everything you need to know about seeing blocked messages on your iPhone. Since you never know when you’d need access to specific personal data, we’d recommend syncing the iPhone with iCloud or iTunes. This ensures that you have access to the relevant data during times of need. If you are still confused, leave a comment with your query, and we’ll get back to you.