It’s no secret that social networks play off of our propensity for constant social interaction. Having conversations with virtual “friends” (even if you know them in real life) has become an interesting replacement — or supplement — to real conversations. While this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it has created a fascinating dynamic surrounding the creation of “digital friendships”.
Facebook’s new “Timeline” feature (which will be mandatory) has already created some interesting buzz. However, did you know that you’ll now be able to see who has unfriended you, using the new Timeline? Here’s how.
If you want to test this out, you’ll first have to get an early invite to Facebook Timeline. Here’s a quick guide on how to do that.
On the new Timeline, you can access your updates by year. For example, click on 2010. You’ll see a summary of how many friends you made that year. Click on this summary for the full list.
If someone has unfriended you, you’ll see an “Add Friend” or a blank space next to their name, where ordinarily it would say “Friend”.
However, if you didn’t notice when they deleted you from their Facebook friendlist, could you really classify them as a “friend” in the first place?